CollectionDX Network

#songoftheday = THE RANGE: “FLORIDA”

Last October I had the pleasure of interviewing James Hinton, who goes by the name The Range.  He’s just released a 360 degree, virtual reality video for “Florida,” my favorite song from his latest album Potential.  The vocals for “Florida” were done by a young woman named Kai who James found on the internet while looking for performances to sample on the album.  Interestingly, the vocals for “Florida” were actually an Ariana Grande cover, but James chopped them up and turned them into something entirely his own.  Something that’s quite pleasing to the ears, if you ask me.  I think you’ll like it if you’re into electronic music at all.  Also, check out his latest mix set below.

Tues Feb 7 || Valley Bar || Phoenix, AZ
Wed Feb 8 || Casbah || San Diego, CA
Thurs Feb 9 || El Rey Theater || Los Angeles, CA
Sat Feb 11 || Mezzanine || San Francisco, CA
Mon Feb 13 || Holocene || Portland, OR
Tues Feb 14 || The Crocodile || Seattle, WA
Fri Feb 17 || Triple Rock Social Club || Minneapolis, MI
Sat Feb 18 || Thalia Hall || Chicago, IL
Sun Feb 19 || Magic Stick || Detroit, MI
Wed May 24 – Mon May 29 || Lightning In A Bottle Festival || Bradley, CA
Sat Jun 3 || Governor’s Ball Festival || New York, NY


Tags: , , , , , , ,

Written by


An entertainment journalist for 20 years, Michael McCarthy was a columnist and contributing editor for the magazines Lollipop and LiveWire. He co-created and wrote for Cinezine, one of the '90's most popular movie E-zines. The only time he's not listening to music is when he's watching television shows and movies or reading, usually music magazines.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a Reply




  • Battle Robo
    Machine Robo P2121885.jpg Battle Robo is ready to kick your ass. Read More...
  • Quake
    Generations Titans Return Transformers quakeclose.jpg Quake has served as a pretty pleasant surprise to me. Read More...
  • Spike Spiegel
    Art FX 00.JPG You’re gonna carry that weight
  • Blitzwing Oversized KO
    Generation One Transformers blitzclose.jpg First of all, he really looks like a real jerk Read More...
  • G2 Bruticus
    Generation 2 bruticusclose.jpg G2 Bruticus is my favorite Transformers Combiner. Read More...